Agatha Christe / Agatha Christie Reading Challenge

Happy Birthday to Agatha Christie

Agatha Christie, popularly known as the queen of crime fiction, was born 125 years ago today (15th September 1890). Let us celebrate her birthday by not only wishing her but also by sharing her thoughts on writing…came out straight from her heart.

“When you begin to write, you are usually in the throes of admiration for some writer, and, whether you will or no, you cannot help copying their style. Often it is not a style that suits you, and so you write badly. But as time goes on you are less influenced by admiration. You will admire certain writers, you may even wish you could write like them, but you know quite well that you can’t. If I could write like Elizabeth Bowen, Muriel Spark, or Graham Greene, I should jump to high heaven with delight, but I know that I can’t, and it would never occur to me to attempt to copy them. I have learned that I am me, that I can do the things that, as one might put it, me can do, but I cannot do the things that me would like to do.”

(Taken from Agatha Christie: An Autobiography)


Happy Birthday to you our dear mystery queen

images


This post is a part of ‘Agatha Christie Reading Challenge

Agatha Christie Reading Challange final


3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to Agatha Christie

Leave a Reply

