Book Reviews / Fiction / Indian Author

An Inspiring Tale of Promises: ‘Keeping the Promises’ by Dhruv Gajjar

My Rating***

Each morning I gaze at the eastern horizon, and if the sun keeps its promise, I keep mine.” –Robert Brault

Let me confess up front – Wow!! Words will be insufficient to express how heart-touching this story is. It’s been a long time a book touched me so emotionally. I was fighting with tears at times. While I was practically trying to inhale the book as soon as possible (to discover what happened next), I also wanted to linger and stretch it out (to make the story last as long as possible). The author should certainly be complemented for penning down such a beautiful woven tale.

 21900529

This book was definitely a ‘5 Star’ for me. The things which stopped me rating it as ‘5 Star’ were a large number of editing errors and the unnecessary italicizing of the text. I feel that the book should have been edited more carefully. However, that aside, both the storyline and the way of narration were just superb. The narration is done in such a way that you feel all the scenes are happening right in front of your eyes. The depth and realistic qualities author gives each and every character in this book is just amazing. You live the lives of the characters of this book, you fall in love with them and, most importantly, you feel their pain as your own and you cry with them (or for them). I think that the romantic aspect was very well-done. The romantic scenes were sweet without being at all sappy.

As the title of the book suggests, this book is about the promises. The story is about the last eleven days of a loving girl (called ‘M’ in the novel) who is dying with a dreadful tumour. It is during these eleven days when this girl makes his boyfriend promise something every night and keep these promises till the last breath of his life. It is also the story of another couple – Ansh and Angie, who have their own love story. However, this is not just an ordinary tale of keeping promises and love. It is much more than that. It is about affection, friendship and sacrifice. M was such an amazing person and I grew so close to her over the course of the novel. I was sad when I read the last page of the book and had to say good bye to her. I will miss you M and you will remain in my heart for a long time.

From cover to cover this is a gorgeous novel, encouraging the reader to look beyond first impressions and reach out to the hearts of other with love and compassion. The romance is sweet and powerful and the lessons for a new beginning are inspiring. I do hope that the author will come out with more works of such nature in future. I will be eagerly waiting for that.

Just one request to the author: Make sure that the editing is done well in your future works.

(I received my copy of ‘Keeping the Promises’ free from the author via Goodreads’ First Reads program.)

Leave a Reply

