Book Reviews / Fiction / Horror / Thrillers

Book Review: Lucifer’s Lungi by Nitin Sawant

My Rating ****

“Fear stifles our thinking and actions.”

I was in my home alone watching a reality show on TV. The house was quiet except the sound of the show I was watching. Suddenly the electricity went off. Darkness consumed my surroundings. What was clearly visible a few moments ago was black now. I started to look for a candle. Unexpectedly the front door opened with a sharp sound. I looked for the person who opened the door but there was nobody. I looked at all the places but without success. “Who’s this?” I spoke out loud, louder than I usually do. But there was no response. I shouted again. No one answered. My breathing sped up. My heart beats started to race. My muscles tightened. The drops of sweat started to emerge on my temple. However, split seconds later, I realised that it was the wind, which forced the door open and no one was trying to enter my home. I simply smiled on my foolish reactions to this. What was happening in my mind that I sacred myself silly?

Fear is a dominant and primitive human emotion. Whenever we confront a perceived danger, our bodies respond in specific ways. And this is what Lucifer’s Lungi by Nitin Sawant is all about. It beautifully narrates the psychology of fear. This book deals with the unholy clash of beliefs, fears and fragilities with unknown. While the response to fear may be highly personalised, there is no doubt that fear plays an important role in people’s lives. That’s why we have the Halloween industry which has been built entirely on the concept of fear. Horror films are another example of this phenomenon.

21955952

Lucifer’s Lungi by Nitin Sawant is a small book of 111 pages that you can finish in one sitting. It is the story of a techie who works for a nice firm in a big city. To get rid of his monotonous life he decides to travel to strange places in weekends. One such trip takes him to a village where people blindly worship and guard a pantheon of Gods and their traditions. This techie, an atheist city-slicker, gets caught in this world of strange tales and traditions. Contrary to his will and convictions, he gets trapped in this world that plays on his hidden fears and imagination. The techie unknowingly becomes involve in a clash that rabidly claws and unmasks his subconscious, leaving him naked and paralysed in front of his demons. The readers should grab a copy if they want to explore this story in detail.

The language of the book is simple. The cover of the book does justice to the storyline. The pace of the narrative is slow and relaxing, and keeps the soul of the book blooming. There is use of non-English words. However, instead of irritating you, these words add a different charm to the story. While the story is funny enough to make you laugh, it also scares you. Most importantly, the story holds a certain excitement level forcing you to keep the pages turning on. The characters have been well developed. The only drawback that I found in this novel is the length of the book. Few more pages could have been easily added. Congratulations to the author for coming up with this brilliantly written debut novel. I am certainly going to keep an eye for his future works.

(I received a free copy of this book from Nethra A in exchange of an honest review.)

Leave a Reply

