Conversation / Interview

Craftswoman of Beautiful Short Stories: Interview with Margaret Lynette Sharp

Margaret Lynette Sharp joins ‘The Bibulous Bibliobiuli’ today to talk about herself and her writing. She is an Australian author who spent her early years in an inner city suburb of Sydney, moving with her family to a leafy, outer suburb at the age of ten. Shortly after the death of her elderly mother whom she cared for, Margaret met and later married Ronald Sharp B.E.M., the creator of the Sydney Opera House Grand Organ. She believes that, without doubt, he is her greatest fan and motivator. To date, Margaret has crafted ten titles: 25 Stories of Life and Love in Australia, A Taste of Life and Love in Australia, The Essence of Life and Love in Australia, Reflections of Life and Love in Australia, 60 Questions, Insights and Reminiscences, Long and Short Australian Stories, Encore, Amelia’s Call, Michaela Betrayed and Lauren Played. All these titles are available on Kindle, and most are also published as paperbacks. So, without wasting any time, let us welcome her and start this conversation.

1. Tell us something about yourself.
I’m a passionate woman. Once I get into something, like swimming, dancing, orMS1 writing, I give it my all. I’m married to the creator of the Sydney Opera House Grand Organ, Ronald Sharp B.E.M. We live in a leafy Sydney suburb, sharing our home with our little white rescue dog, Chicki, and two budgerigars: Albert the Second and Victoria. We have eclectic tastes in music. Dancing to the tunes of the 60’s, 70’s and 80’s as performed by our favourite cover band is a highlight of our lives. This was added recently to our lifelong love of the classics and the playing of the piano and other instruments.

2. What was that point in your life that you realized that being an author was no longer going to be just a dream but a career you were going to turn into reality?
Despite having written and published ten titles to date, I’m not sure I would call it a career, though certainly I experience moments of pride, especially when I first see and hold a new title. And of course, the arrival of my first bound title, ‘25 Stories of Life and Love in Australia‘, as a proof copy marked a feeling of accomplishment.

3. Could you describe the mundane process of writing? Do you follow a regular routine?
I’ll have to divide my writing into two distinct sections. First, there’s the serious literature I write for publication as a book. These days I generally create on my laptop in a room well-lit by natural light. Actually, I work from a basic idea — a framework of say half a dozen sentences –refining the plot as I go on.
Second, there’s the other writing I do quite often: the blogging, tweeting and so on. This is mostly for social reasons and to keep in touch with my fans.

4. What would you say is your interesting quirk that only happens when you are writing?
When I’m writing a book I think about it a great deal, to the exclusion of real life events. I do much of my thinking while I’m swimming. Then comes the rush to get it down on paper while it’s still clear in my mind.

5. What was one of the most surprising things you learned in writingMS2 your books?
I guess I was most surprised that people read and liked my stories. That comment is particularly relevant to my earliest works where I really wasn’t confident of the reception that these books would get.

6. Is there anything which has influenced your life and writing?
My writing has been a product of my own observations of life. I guess that most writers are spurred on to write because they enjoy reading, and respect those who write well. I’m no exception.

7. What do you think makes a good story?
A blend of identifiable characters which includes at least one person with whom the reader can really care about is a good starting point.

8. Are there any occupational hazards of being a writer?
Would it surprise you to learn that so far, I haven’t been pursued by the paparazzi.
On another note, writing can take you away from those things that you think you *should* be doing. But whether or not this is a ‘occupational hazard’ is arguable.

9. What do you like to do when you are not writing?
I like to swim, take photographs, dance, and spend time with my husband and our little dog Chicki.

10. Tell us some “Good-to-know” fun-facts about you. What’s the most amusing thing that happened to you?
This is an ongoing amusement:
Step one: being awakened by our little white dog Chicki with a rope toy in her mouth. J Her face is irresistible!
Step two: playing tug of war with her while still bleary-eyed.

11. Let us turn our focus to your books. You have written a number of books. Which one of these is close to your heart?
I’ll have to cheat here and nominate two. My second title: ‘A Taste of Life and Love in Australia‘ (which cost me more in effort than any other) and my second novella: ‘Michaela Betrayed‘.

12. What would you like your readers to know about your books in general?
My books are characterized by their emotionally engaging and ‘clean’ content. You can safely lend them to your grandparents. Many reviewers have commented that they are well-crafted.

13. You have created so many characters. Is there one particular character who speaks the loudest to you? Does any of these clamour to be heard over others?
I guess Amelia (of ‘Amelia’s Call‘) speaks loudest to me. Her foibles and indecision1234 resonate with me. Hers is a steep learning curve.

14. What kind of research you generally do for your books?
Historical details don’t figure in the settings of my stories. My books evolve without research. I have gathered knowledge of humanity just by living and observing. Throughout my life I have been a reader and a thinker.

15. What, according to you, is the hardest part of writing?
Sticking to the task. Quite often I’m exhausted at the end of a project. The effort involved in writing can be very draining.

16. Which part of writing do you enjoy most?
There are two good bits. The first is the stage of inspiration, when the embryo of the story pops into my brain. The other heady part is the feeling of accomplishment when it’s finished and meets with approval.

17. What kind of messages do you want to give through your works?
My stories are positive. I want to send the message that there is hope even when life doesn’t go according to plan.

18. What question do you wish that someone would ask you about your works, but nobody has so far?
Which character is most like myself? :):):):)

19. What are your future plans?
I am having a break from writing books at present, to concentrate on learning to drive a car, and to spend time with my husband. Later on I will probably start again. I’ve taken to writing longer works, so another novella or maybe even a novel could be in the future.

20. Do you have any suggestion to help others become better writers?
Read and analyze the works of others. Establish the habit of writing every day, even if only a few paragraphs.

21. What do you think is the future of writing?
People will always by hungry for literature. It has no real substitute. The only question is: How will it be delivered? Will paperbacks become totally superseded? Will screens be replaced by something yet to be invented?


                                                  Rapid Fire Questions:

MS3  Favourite colour:  Pink
  Favourite author: James Herriot
  Favourite Cuisine: Traditional roasted beef
  Favourite book:Pride and Prejudice
  Favourite movie: ‘Pride and Prejudice’
  Favourite actor: Colin Firth
  Favourite actress: Jennifer Ehle
  Dogs or cats: Dogs
  Tea or coffee: Tea
  Light or dark: Light
  E-reader or print book: Print
  Ballpoint or fountain pen: Ballpoint


 You can contact Margaret Lynette Sharp on following social networks

Goodreads 
Blog
Amazon
Twitter
Facebook

Margaret Lynette Sharp’s Books

MLS BC1MLS BC2MLS BC3MLS BC4MLS BC5MLS BC6MLS BC8MLS BC9MLS BC7MSL BC10


A great opportunity to buy ‘A Taste of Life and Love in Australia‘ by Margaret Lynette Sharp at a reduced price of US$1.49 until at least next Monday, especially for the readers of this blog 

Clink on the link and get the book on a reduced price

http://www.amazon.com/Taste-Life-Love-Australia-ebook/dp/B008FOEG12/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&sr=&qid=


Read my review of ‘ENCORE’ by Margaret Lynette Sharp

https://pgalmora.wordpress.com/2013/11/22/review-of-encore-by-margaret-lynette-sharp/


 

2 thoughts on “Craftswoman of Beautiful Short Stories: Interview with Margaret Lynette Sharp

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.